The Treasury Department said yesterday it will allow 10 banks to repay $68 billion of the funds invested in them by the government under the Troubled Asset Relief Program.


The government had invested $244 billion in those banks, which include J.P. Morgan Chase, Goldman Sachs and Morgan Stanley. The list does not include giants such as Wells Fargo and Citigroup.


The department had originally planned to mandate that the banks keep the money for three years, but Congress forced the department to provide an option to return the money earlier.

Complete your profile to continue reading and get FREE access to, part of your ALM digital membership.

  • Critical information including comprehensive product and service provider listings via the Marketplace Directory, CU Careers, resources from industry leaders, webcasts, and breaking news, analysis and more with our informative Newsletters.
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM and CU Times events.
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including and

© 2024 ALM Global, LLC, All Rights Reserved. Request academic re-use from All other uses, submit a request to [email protected]. For more information visit Asset & Logo Licensing.