WASHINGTON – President-elect Barack Obama named the last members of his cabinet and several other top administration officials today, focusing on business policy and transportation positions.

U.S. Rep. Hilda Solis (D-Calif.) was named secretary of labor and U.S. Rep. Ray LaHood (R-Ill.) was named secretary of transportation. Former Dallas Mayor Ron Kirk was nominated to be U.S. Trade Representative and Maine venture capitalist Karen Gordon Mills to be administrator of the Small Business Administration. All four positions require Senate confirmation.

Obama said he was completing his economic team earlier then any previous president elect because of the nation's serious economic woes.

Complete your profile to continue reading and get FREE access to CUTimes.com, part of your ALM digital membership.

  • Critical CUTimes.com information including comprehensive product and service provider listings via the Marketplace Directory, CU Careers, resources from industry leaders, webcasts, and breaking news, analysis and more with our informative Newsletters.
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM and CU Times events.
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including Law.com and GlobeSt.com.

© 2024 ALM Global, LLC, All Rights Reserved. Request academic re-use from www.copyright.com. All other uses, submit a request to [email protected]. For more information visit Asset & Logo Licensing.