California Credit Union League, Rancho Cucamonga, has nominated the three recipients of its Tomorrow's Star Award for the Young Credit Union Professionals Scholarship. This year's nominees include Michael George, business development manager for Kern Schools FCU; Jeanne Kim, e-commerce project manager for Xerox FCU; and Melia De Witt, public relations specialist for Financial Partners CU. Credit Union Affiliates of New Jersey, Hightstown, has awarded $5,000 in Youth Involvement Board scholarship assistance to college-bound credit union members. Students were selected for their excellence in understanding the importance of financial literacy and recognizing the true essence of the credit union movement. This year's winners include the following students: Allison Phillips; Jessica Holster; Heather Shields; Juliane Suozzo; Eric Horwitz; Matthew P. Giles; Jacqueline Dunn; Jill Savla; Sunea Tewani; and Gregory T. Bogart. Each student will be awarded $500. Baton Rouge Teachers Federal Credit Union, La., has awarded three high school students Star Student Scholarships. Rick Nugent of McKinley High School was awarded a first place prize of $2,000 and a $1,000 gift certificate to CompUSA. The remaining two runners-up Jonathan Byrd of Catholic High School and Kimberly Grace Meador of Baton Rouge Magnet High School, each received $1,000 and a $100 American Express Gift Check.

Complete your profile to continue reading and get FREE access to, part of your ALM digital membership.

  • Critical information including comprehensive product and service provider listings via the Marketplace Directory, CU Careers, resources from industry leaders, webcasts, and breaking news, analysis and more with our informative Newsletters.
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM and CU Times events.
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including and

© 2024 ALM Global, LLC, All Rights Reserved. Request academic re-use from All other uses, submit a request to [email protected]. For more information visit Asset & Logo Licensing.