Vista Federal Credit Union, Lake Buena Vista, Fla., has awarded Vista Jamz Scholarship winners Erin Gilrane and Allison Rodriguez $5,000 each.The scholarship program is one of the benefits offered by the Vista Jamz Club, which helps educate younger members about personal finance. Scholarship recipients were selected based on their academic achievements, community involvement and essay on technology in the credit union movement. Gilrane now attends University of Florida and Rodriguez is a Cornell University undergraduate. CEFCU, Peoria, Ill., has awarded Member Appreciation Scholarships to eight Bradley University students. As part of CEFCU’s $1 million pledge to the university, each of the eight recipients has received a $4,000 scholarship for the 2001-2002 academic year. Over 160 CEFCU members applied for the scholarship. Students were selected based on their outstanding academic achievement. The recipients are as follows: Abi Ackerman, Natalie Shoop, Tiffany Mack, Amanda Allison, Phillip Quine, James Siegle, Kelli Kupferschmid, and Kathryn Densberger. Wepawaug-Flagg Federal Credit Union, Hamden, Conn., has awarded $1,000 scholarships to Kristina Estok, Seth Bard, Ellen Devine and Tyrese Bolden. Students were selected based on their essays, references, academic achievements and community service. United Southeast Federal Credit Union, Bristol, Tenn., has awarded its first ever scholarship to five college freshmen. Applicants were judged based on academic achievements, extracurricular activities and community involvement. This year’s winners are Jason M. Cross, Lorrie Foster, Stacy L. Hutton, Tyson L. Keller and Heather d. Phillips. Mon-Oc Federal Credit Union, Toms River, N.J., has awarded scholarships to eight high school seniors. Since 1992, the Mon-Oc FCU Scholarship Fund has awarded $23,000 in scholarships to 62 graduating seniors. Applicants were asked to respond to the essay question, “What action will you take with the environment to keep it safe for future generations?” This year’s recipients are Martin Segal, Laura Hudzinski, Elizabeth Hults, Elina Kogan, Jessica Brown, Sean Cusick, and Fay LaManna. Security Service Federal Credit Union, San Antonio, Texas, has awarded scholarships to thirteen college-bound students. Ten recipients from Texas, two from Colorado and one from Hawaii were each awarded a $500 non-renewable scholarship. The following students received a SSFCU scholarship: Bonnie Bolton; Jeffrey Hammock; Maria Harsha; Jennifer Ann Koop; Michael Heiman; Michelle Garza; Amanda Jean Haas; Robin M. Crouch; Angeline Cione; Catherine H. Do; Judy Kay Hereford; Monica Elena Martinez; and Lelani Tafua. Los Angeles Firemen’s Credit Union, Pasadena, Calif., has announced the winners of its sixth annual scholarship competition. Paul De La Cerda, Allison Hill, Amber Lockett, Jessica Whitney and Evan Williams IV were each awarded $1,000 in recognition of their academic, extracurricular and community achievements. Minnesota Life Insurance Company, has awarded the Rose Woods Scholarship to Benjamin Brinkman. Named after the former manager of the Minnesota Mutual Companies Credit Union, the $500 scholarship was established for credit union members and their children who plan to enroll in accredited higher education programs. Brinkman attends St. John’s University and plans to major in communications. Portland Teachers Credit Union, Ore., has awarded scholarships totaling $56,000 to 28 students. PTCU grants 30 renewing scholarships to members annually, ten of which are first-time awards. For the 2001-2002 academic year all 28 students were each awarded $2,000 scholarships with nine sophomores as first-time scholarship recipients. Virginia Credit Union, Richmond, has awarded $1,000 Dorothy J. Hall Scholarships to 25 student members. Recipients were selected based on academics, extracurricular involvement, honors and essays. Established in 1991 the Dorothy J. Hall scholarship is named after the former VCU president who retired in 1999. Nebraska Credit Union League, Omaha, has announced that the Lincoln Chapter of credit unions has recently awarded three scholarships. The Credit Unions for Higher Education Scholarship Essay Contest was open to credit union members who are also part-time or full-time college or trade school students. Applicants used their creativity to pen a 500 word or less composition about the “Benefits of Being a Credit Union Member.” This year’s recipients are as follows: Pam Laws, $1,250; Susan Walsh, $750; and Gina Morgan, $500.

Complete your profile to continue reading and get FREE access to, part of your ALM digital membership.

Your access to unlimited content isn’t changing.
Once you are an ALM digital member, you’ll receive:

  • Critical information including comprehensive product and service provider listings via the Marketplace Directory, CU Careers, resources from industry leaders, webcasts, and breaking news, analysis and more with our informative Newsletters.
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM and CU Times events.
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including and

Already have an account?


© 2023 ALM Global, LLC, All Rights Reserved. Request academic re-use from All other uses, submit a request to [email protected]. For more information visit Asset & Logo Licensing.


Credit Union Times

Join Credit Union Times

Don’t miss crucial strategic and tactical information necessary to run your institution and better serve your members. Join Credit Union Times now!

  • Free unlimited access to Credit Union Times' trusted and independent team of experts for extensive industry news, conference coverage, people features, statistical analysis, and regulation and technology updates.
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM and Credit Union Times events.
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including and

Already have an account? Sign In Now
Join Credit Union Times

Copyright © 2023 ALM Global, LLC. All Rights Reserved.