Thank you for sharing!

Your article was successfully shared with the contacts you provided.

WASHINGTON-America’s credit unions were named the official title sponsors of the 2002 Cherry Blossom 10 Mile Run to take place April 7, 2002. During the official signing ceremony, a $25,000 “down payment” was donated by participating credit unions to the Children’s National Medical Center through the Children’s Miracle Network (CMN). Race proceeds will also go to CMN. Credit unions have been long-time supporters of CMN, an international non-profit organization helping children through fundraising and awareness programs for 170 children’s hospitals throughout North America. To date, 54 credit unions and affiliated organizations, including CUNA and NAFCU, have enlisted to help. The Credit Union Miracle Day Committee is still seeking additional sponsors. Parties interested can contact Lafayette Federal Credit Union CEO Bill Brooks, chairman of the Credit Union Miracle Day, Inc., at (301) 929-7999. “Credit unions have been serving the community for a long time and this puts us another step forward,” NAFCU President and CEO Fred Becker said in his remarks during the ceremony. “We are pleased to sponsor this longstanding running event which has been a Washington tradition,” Brooks said. The 2002 Cherry Blossom run will be the 30th year for the popular event. “This is really the great coming together of traditions” between the race and credit unions, Event Director Phil Stewart said. CMN Vice President of Corporate Development Val Durrant explained that the race was intended to be the “granddaddy” of Children’s Miracle Month, this April. “We are using the race as a cornerstone of what we want to happen nationally,” he said. Events supporting CMN will be taking place nationwide during the month of April 2002, though the Washington D.C. race is expected to be the grandest. Four-time race winner (1978-1981) Bill Rodgers, spokesman for Bill Rodgers Sportswear, Bill Rodgers Running Center, and RUNNING TIMES magazine, is serving as an honorary race chair. He also won the Boston and New York City Marathons four-times each and was an Olympic team member in 1976. Additionally, Senators Max Baucus (D-Mont.), Bill Frist (R-Tenn.), and Richard Lugar (R-Ind.), as well as Congressmen Tom Davis (R-Va.) and Bart Gordon (D-Tenn.), serve as honorary race chairs. Credit Union Honorary Race Chairs include U.S. Surgeon General David Satcher and Congresswoman Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-D.C.). [email protected]

Complete your profile to continue reading and get FREE access to CUTimes.com, part of your ALM digital membership.

Your access to unlimited CUTimes.com content isn’t changing.
Once you are an ALM digital member, you’ll receive:

  • Critical CUTimes.com information including comprehensive product and service provider listings via the Marketplace Directory, CU Careers, resources from industry leaders, webcasts, and breaking news, analysis and more with our informative Newsletters.
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM and CU Times events.
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including Law.com and GlobeSt.com.

Already have an account?


Credit Union Times

Join Credit Union Times

Don’t miss crucial strategic and tactical information necessary to run your institution and better serve your members. Join Credit Union Times now!

  • Free unlimited access to Credit Union Times' trusted and independent team of experts for extensive industry news, conference coverage, people features, statistical analysis, and regulation and technology updates.
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM and Credit Union Times events.
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including TreasuryandRisk.com and Law.com.

Already have an account? Sign In Now
Join Credit Union Times
Live Chat

Copyright © 2022 ALM Media Properties, LLC. All Rights Reserved.