aCORPUS CHRISTI, Texas – Just a few weeks after it was approved to convert from a federal to a state charter, Corpus Christi CU has filed an application with the state Credit Union Division to expand its field-of-membership to include five counties with a total population of nearly 475,000. The five counties are Aransas (population 22,497); Jim Wells (population 39,226); Kleberg (population 31,549); Nueces (population 313,645); and San Patricio (population 67,138). Corpus Christi's FOM currently includes teaches in Arances and Nueces counties. It has about $109 million in assets and more than 28,000 members. Corpus Christi's application will be published in the Texas Register at the end of October. The Credit Union Division expects to make its decision on the application by the first part of December.

Complete your profile to continue reading and get FREE access to, part of your ALM digital membership.

  • Critical information including comprehensive product and service provider listings via the Marketplace Directory, CU Careers, resources from industry leaders, webcasts, and breaking news, analysis and more with our informative Newsletters.
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM and CU Times events.
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including and

© 2024 ALM Global, LLC, All Rights Reserved. Request academic re-use from All other uses, submit a request to [email protected]. For more information visit Asset & Logo Licensing.