Bay Federal Credit Union, Capitola, Calif.,announced the winners of the credit union’s two annual scholarshipawards: The Making a Real Difference scholarship, a $1,000 award,is given to local students in pursuit of higher educationwith goals to make a difference in their communities . The MacMcCormac Employee scholarship, a $500 award, is named for NormanMcCormac, Bay Federal’s first paid employee who worked for thecredit union in the 1960s and 1970s. This $500 award is granted toa Bay Federal employee who is enrolled in an educational programoutside of regular duties at the credit union. In all, threestudents and two employees were chosen to receive this year’sawards. Winners of the Making a Real Difference scholarship awardswere Alejandra Vaca-Perez, Jack Wilkins and Holly Borg. Vaca-Perezis a graduate student pursuing her masters of social work at SanJose State University. Wilkins, a senior at Monte Vista ChristianSchool, will be attending either Azusa Pacific or Long Beach StateUniversity this fall. Borg, a senior at Santa Cruz High School,plans to become a medical doctor so that she may serve AIDspatients in Africa as part of Doctors Without Borders. Winners ofthe McCormac scholarship were Anna Schweikert, and Janene Adema.Schweikert is a financial services representative with BayFederal’s call center. She is pursuing a degree in business fromCabrillo College. Adema, business development manager for in themortgage loan department, is enrolled in the clinical psychologymaster’s degree program at Simpson University.

Black Hills Federal Credit Union, Rapid City,S.D., announced the recipients of the 2012 VIBZ scholarships. Thefour high school seniors were selected from more than 50 applicantsfrom 19 area schools in western and central South Dakota. Each willreceive a $1,000 scholarship. The recipients are members of BlackHills FCU’s VIBZ teen program which is designed to promotefinancial literacy among young adults and assist them ineffectively managing their personal finances. The recipients wereMegan Schlosser, Central High School in Rapid City, who plans onattending University of South Dakota; Cassidy Trapp, T.F. RiggsHigh School in Pierre, who plans on attending South Dakota Schoolof Mines and Technology; Sara Stewart, home schooled in RapidCity, who plans on attending Western Dakota TechnicalInstitute; and William Hendricks, Stevens High School in RapidCity, who plans on attending Iowa State University.

Consumers Credit Union, Waukegan Ill., and itssponsor, Consumers Cooperative Association, awarded six $1,500scholarships to local students. The high school students receivedtheir scholarships at the joint annual meeting of the twoorganizations. The winners were Jessica Velazquez, Waukegan HighSchool; Leah M. Pranke, Antioch Community High School; Paul H.Carey, Shoreland Lutheran High School; Sandra U. Omorogieva, ZionBenton High School; Abigail P. Monsalud Carmel Catholic HighSchool; and Edian Banuelos, Round Lake Senior High School.

Complete your profile to continue reading and get FREE access to, part of your ALM digital membership.

  • Critical information including comprehensive product and service provider listings via the Marketplace Directory, CU Careers, resources from industry leaders, webcasts, and breaking news, analysis and more with our informative Newsletters.
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM and CU Times events.
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including and

© 2024 ALM Global, LLC, All Rights Reserved. Request academic re-use from All other uses, submit a request to [email protected]. For more information visit Asset & Logo Licensing.