X

Thank you for sharing!

Your article was successfully shared with the contacts you provided.

TRENTON, N.J. — New Jersey’s state legislature is considering charging lenders and servicers a $2,000 fee for every foreclosure they file in the state.

Under the New Jersey Homeownership Preservation Act, a creditor that issues a notice of intent to foreclose on a covered mortgage loan willl at the same time send in a certified check for $2,000 to be deposited into a trust fund. The trust fund will be used to help homeowners facing foreclosure, including paying for borrower counseling and providing funding for community groups’ efforts to prevent borrowers from losing their homes.

Complete your profile to continue reading and get FREE access to CUTimes.com, part of your ALM digital membership.

Your access to unlimited CUTimes.com content isn’t changing.
Once you are an ALM digital member, you’ll receive:

  • Critical CUTimes.com information including comprehensive product and service provider listings via the Marketplace Directory, CU Careers, resources from industry leaders, webcasts, and breaking news, analysis and more with our informative Newsletters.
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM and CU Times events.
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including Law.com and GlobeSt.com.

Already have an account?

 

Credit Union Times

Join Credit Union Times

Don’t miss crucial strategic and tactical information necessary to run your institution and better serve your members. Join Credit Union Times now!

  • Free unlimited access to Credit Union Times' trusted and independent team of experts for extensive industry news, conference coverage, people features, statistical analysis, and regulation and technology updates.
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM and Credit Union Times events.
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including TreasuryandRisk.com and Law.com.

Already have an account? Sign In Now
Join Credit Union Times
Live Chat

Copyright © 2021 ALM Media Properties, LLC. All Rights Reserved.