DANA POINT, Calif. — George Latham, deputy commissioner ofcredit unions, Virginia Bureau of Financial Institutions, is thewinner of the NASCUS 2006 Pierre Jay Award. First presented byNASCUS in 1997, the Pierre Jay Award is named after the firstCommissioner of Banks in Massachusetts. NASCUS said the award wascreated “to recognize those who have surpassed the expectations ofduty. It is presented to those whose contributions have benefitedthe state credit union system in a significant way. Recipients ofthe award best demonstrate outstanding service, leadership andcommitment to NASCUS and the dual chartering system.” As thisyear's winner, Latham joins the list of past Pierre Jay Awardhonorees including: Ella Robinson, retired Kentucky regulator; MikeFitzgerald, former Michigan regulator; Gary Oakland, president/CEO,BECU, Seattle; Gavin Gee, Idaho regulator; Gary Mielock, formerMichigan regulator; Richard Murakami, former California regulator;James Forney, Iowa regulator; and Jim Blaine, president/CEO, StateEmployees' CU, Raleigh, N.C.

Complete your profile to continue reading and get FREE access to CUTimes.com, part of your ALM digital membership.

  • Critical CUTimes.com information including comprehensive product and service provider listings via the Marketplace Directory, CU Careers, resources from industry leaders, webcasts, and breaking news, analysis and more with our informative Newsletters.
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM and CU Times events.
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including Law.com and GlobeSt.com.

© 2024 ALM Global, LLC, All Rights Reserved. Request academic re-use from www.copyright.com. All other uses, submit a request to [email protected]. For more information visit Asset & Logo Licensing.