Wepawaug-Flagg Federal Credit Union, Hamden, Conn., has awarded four $1,000 scholarships to deserving high school seniors and college students. Recipients were selected based on the merits of their student essays, references and community service. This year's scholarship winners are Aisha Bob-Semple, Caitlin Kingsley, Samantha P. Austin and Jennifer Mancini. Boeing Employees Credit Union, Tukwila, Wash., BECU Foundation has awarded 42 $2,000 scholarships to student members of BECU. Scholarship recipients are selected based on academic achievement, leadership, school service, and strong community involvement. Volunteering at homeless shelters, tutoring and mentoring students, providing translation services, traveling to other countries to build homes for local families, and even creating a non-profit organization that gives back to foster kids, are just a few of the service activities to which award recipients have dedicated their time. Kane County Teachers Credit Union, Elgin, Ill., has awarded $1,000 scholarships to five deserving high school students. This was the first year KCTCU posted the scholarship application online and the scholarship committee received a record-breaking number of applications. This year's recipients are Allison Schildknecht, Kevin Butler, Tim Herrmann, Anne Meyer, and Ashley Damato. Unity One Federal Credit Union, Fort Worth, Texas, has named Jacob Thomsen the 2005-2006 Robert P. Bennett Memorial Scholarship winner. The scholarship was named in honor of former volunteer Board Member for Unity One FCU, Robert P. Bennett. This is the second year Unity One FCU has awarded a scholarship in his honor. Penn East Federal Credit Union, Scranton, Pa., has named Kaitlin Cherundolo and Maria Ferraro recipients of the Penn East FCU Scholarship. Each winner receives $2,500. Scholarship candidates must have an outstanding scholastic record, be significantly involved in extra-curricular activities at their schools, volunteer in the community, display a strong work ethic, and they or their parents must be members of Penn East FCU. Nutmeg State Federal Credit Union, Rocky Hill, Conn., has named Ellen Barnicle, James Flannery, Sarah Pacheco, and Victoria Woronecki this year's Arthur E. Werner Memorial Scholarship winners. Recipients were each awarded $2,000. Vista Federal Credit Union, Burbank, Calif., has awarded Vista Jamz Scholarships to five credit union members. Each deserving student received a $2,500 award for higher education. This year's recipients are Jessica Andes, Neall Prashad, Veronica Reino, Ari Roche, and Sabrina Neuman. The scholarship competition is a component of the credit union's Vista Jamz club for 13 – 17 year-olds. BestSource Credit Union, Waterford, Mich., has awarded educational scholarships to five deserving college students in its first annual scholarship competition.Applicants were requested to submit their official transcripts, extracurricular and community activities and essays on the topic "How can credit unions better address the financial needs of young adults?" The 2005 BestSource Credit Union scholarship winners include: Hannah Styles, Diane Cavicchioli, Amanda VanAllen, Brittney Hennigan, and Josh Smokovitz.

Complete your profile to continue reading and get FREE access to CUTimes.com, part of your ALM digital membership.

  • Critical CUTimes.com information including comprehensive product and service provider listings via the Marketplace Directory, CU Careers, resources from industry leaders, webcasts, and breaking news, analysis and more with our informative Newsletters.
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM and CU Times events.
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including Law.com and GlobeSt.com.

© 2024 ALM Global, LLC, All Rights Reserved. Request academic re-use from www.copyright.com. All other uses, submit a request to [email protected]. For more information visit Asset & Logo Licensing.