First Credit Union, Chandler, Ariz., President/CEO Fred Kent has been awarded the 2005 Very Outstanding Credit Union Person (VOCUP) Award by the Arizona Credit Union League. The VOCUP Award is given to recognize a living person based on the recipient’s involvement in the credit union movement in Arizona. Kent was recognized for his long-time dedication to the credit union industry. Schools Federal Credit Union, Rancho Dominguez, Calif., (formerly LA Schools FCU) has won the Marketing Association of Credit Unions MACQUEE Best of Show. The winning entry was based on a business development proposal seeking to become the official financial institution of California State University, Dominguez Hills developed in partnership with marketing firm Aubrey and Associates. MAC offers professional development to credit union marketing professionals nationwide and has been serving credit union industry since 1986. North Island Credit Union, Chula Vista, Calif., President/CEO Michael Maslak has been honored by the Boys and Girls Clubs of Greater San Diego and KSWB Cares for Kids for his dedicated contributions to the community and youth in particular. Catholic Federal Credit Union, Saginaw, Mich., has recently been voted #1 credit union by the Saginaw News Best of the Best Reader’s Choice Awards. This is the third year CFCU has been voted #1 in this category. The North Carolina Credit Union League, Greensboro, has presented some 22 statewide awards. The Mark of Excellence Award, which recognizes sustained leadership was presented to Martha Miller, president/CEO, Choice Community CU and Ronnie Rash, board member, Charlotte Metro CU. The Ronald J. Hutchins Credit Union Person of the Year Award , which recognizes an individual’s outstanding accomplishments, time and effort given in support and promotion of the credit union ideal., went to Sam Whitehurst, president/CEO, Summit CU Career Person of the Year and William Posey, board member, NC Community FCU Volunteer Person of the Year. SECU took home the Louise Herring Award and the Desjardins Youth Financial Education Award went to Mountain CU, first place and American Partners FCU second place. For the Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Award the following credit unions came in first place: Lorillard FCU , American Partners FCU, Mountain Credit Union, Members CU, Allegacy FCU and Western Chapter of the NCCUL. Second Place winners include: Carolina Postal CU, Champion CU, Charlotte Metro CU, SECU, Northwest Chapter of the NCCUL with honorable mentions going to Hickory Springs FCU, Greensboro Municipal CU, Carolina Mountains CU, and Premier FCU.

Complete your profile to continue reading and get FREE access to, part of your ALM digital membership.

Your access to unlimited content isn’t changing.
Once you are an ALM digital member, you’ll receive:

  • Critical information including comprehensive product and service provider listings via the Marketplace Directory, CU Careers, resources from industry leaders, webcasts, and breaking news, analysis and more with our informative Newsletters.
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM and CU Times events.
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including and

Already have an account?


Credit Union Times

Join Credit Union Times

Don’t miss crucial strategic and tactical information necessary to run your institution and better serve your members. Join Credit Union Times now!

  • Free unlimited access to Credit Union Times' trusted and independent team of experts for extensive industry news, conference coverage, people features, statistical analysis, and regulation and technology updates.
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM and Credit Union Times events.
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including and

Already have an account? Sign In Now
Join Credit Union Times

Copyright © 2023 ALM Global, LLC. All Rights Reserved.