MADISON, Wis.-At the same time CUNA was devoting much of its attention to the Republican National Convention, the trade association held its own election for one-third of the seats on its board. In the three contested elections for CUNA's Board, incumbent Diana L. Roberts, president and CEO of Hershey Federal Credit Union won the District 1, Class A seat; incumbent Tom Dorety, president and CEO of Suncoast Schools Federal Credit Union won the District 3, Class C seat; and Point Plus Credit Union President and CEO Pat Wesenberg beat out incumbent Janet Honse, president and CEO of Rolla Federal Credit Union (Mo.), to win the District 4, Class A seat. Voter participation in these three seats was 45% (1A); 73% (3C); and 52% (4A), according to CUNA Vice President of Communications and Media Outreach Pat Keefe. Five more ran unopposed, including: * Incumbent Grace Mayo, president and CEO of Telesis Community Credit Union (District 6, Class B); * Vermont Credit Union League President Joseph Bergeron (District 1, Class D); * Cincinnati Central Credit Union President and CEO William Herring (District 2, Class B); * Delaware Credit Union League President and CEO Robert S. Walls, Sr. (District 2, Class D); and * Government Employees Credit Union (El Paso, Texas) President and CEO Harriet May (District 5, Class C). Keefe explained that the number of uncontested seats is typical. In the 2002 elections, there were three uncontested elections and five in 2003. The new terms for CUNA's Board members will begin at the conclusion of the Annual General Meeting during the 2004 Future Forum in Honolulu on Oct. 26.

Complete your profile to continue reading and get FREE access to, part of your ALM digital membership.

  • Critical information including comprehensive product and service provider listings via the Marketplace Directory, CU Careers, resources from industry leaders, webcasts, and breaking news, analysis and more with our informative Newsletters.
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM and CU Times events.
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including and

© 2024 ALM Global, LLC, All Rights Reserved. Request academic re-use from All other uses, submit a request to [email protected]. For more information visit Asset & Logo Licensing.