CEFCU, Peoria, Ill., has awarded a total of eight CEFCU Member Appreciation Scholarships to attend Bradley University. Each of the eight recipients received a $4,000 scholarship for the 2002-2003 academic year. This year’s winners are Nicole Brewington, Sara Cruce, Jordan Draminiski, Stephanie Eckhold, Megan Hodge, Lucas Roemersberger, Julie Kennelly, and Emily Gilles. Recipients were selected for their outstanding academic achievements. Service One Credit Union, Bowing Green, Ky., has awarded a $500 scholarship to Cynthia Vance Hines. Partnering with the Western Kentucky University Foundation, the Service One CU Endowed Scholarship was created to provide its members financial assistance to further their education. Credit Union ONE, Ferndale, Mich., has sponsored two Detroit high school students to attend a summer research apprenticeship program at Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute. Recipients Sondra Jennings White and Melody Kelley will work in cancer research laboratories as part of the Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute’s “Detroit High School Summer Research Apprenticeship Program.” Financial Resources Federal Credit Union, Bridgewater, N.J., has announced the recipients of the 2002 “Look Ahead” Scholarship. This year’s topic was to explain in 500 words or less “why or why not our federal income tax system is fair.” The winning members were Alison Ng, $1,000; Eric Neuenfeldt, $500; and Michelle Bassett, $250. Arizona Federal Credit Union, Phoenix, has named Koree Hood the recipient of the 2002 Michael Hale Scholarship. This $1,000 scholarship is awarded annually in recognition of the contributions made by Hale, Arizona FCU’s former longtime president/CEO. Receiving this scholarship will allow the outstanding student to pay for college expenses that might otherwise be a barrier to college enrollment. Anheuser-Busch Employees’ Credit Union, St. Louis, Mo., has announced the winners of its annual $1,000 Vince Jacknewitz Scholarship Program. Scholarships were awarded to Jessica Gerfen; Gena Miller; Jessica Newsham and Kimberly Trokey. In addition to the annual scholarship program, ABECU also announced the winners of its annual $1,000 Vince Jacknewitz Employees’ Family Members Scholarship Program. Scholarships were awarded to Leah Vogler and Kurtis Werner.

Complete your profile to continue reading and get FREE access to CUTimes.com, part of your ALM digital membership.

Your access to unlimited CUTimes.com content isn’t changing.
Once you are an ALM digital member, you’ll receive:

  • Critical CUTimes.com information including comprehensive product and service provider listings via the Marketplace Directory, CU Careers, resources from industry leaders, webcasts, and breaking news, analysis and more with our informative Newsletters.
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM and CU Times events.
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including Law.com and GlobeSt.com.

Already have an account?


© 2023 ALM Global, LLC, All Rights Reserved. Request academic re-use from www.copyright.com. All other uses, submit a request to [email protected]. For more information visit Asset & Logo Licensing.


Credit Union Times

Join Credit Union Times

Don’t miss crucial strategic and tactical information necessary to run your institution and better serve your members. Join Credit Union Times now!

  • Free unlimited access to Credit Union Times' trusted and independent team of experts for extensive industry news, conference coverage, people features, statistical analysis, and regulation and technology updates.
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM and Credit Union Times events.
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including TreasuryandRisk.com and Law.com.

Already have an account? Sign In Now
Join Credit Union Times

Copyright © 2023 ALM Global, LLC. All Rights Reserved.