Key House Leaders Winners Speaker Dennis Hastert (R-Ill.) Majority Whip Tom DeLay (R-Texas) Minority Leader Dick Gephardt (D-Mo.) Minority Whip Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.); Financial Services Committee Member Retired Majority Leader Dick Armey (R-Texas) House Financial Services Committee Member Winners Spencer Bachus (R-Ala.)*; Financial Institutions Subcommittee Chair John Shadegg (R-Ariz.) Mike Ross (D-Ark.) + Doug Ose (R-Calif.) Barbara Lee (D-Calif.) Brad Sherman (D-Calif.) Maxine Waters (D-Calif.)* Ed Royce (R-Calif.) Gary Miller (R-Calif.) Christopher Cox (R-Calif.) Darrell Issa (R-Calif.)* + Mark Udall (D-Colo.) + Christopher Shays (R-Conn.) Nancy Johnson (R-Conn.); incumbent that unseated Rep. Jim Maloney (R-Conn.) after redistricting Michael Castle (R-Del.) Dave Weldon (R-Fla.) Jim Leach (R-Iowa); former chair of the committee Mike Oxley (R-Ohio); chairman of the committee Doug Bereuter (R-Neb.) Richard Baker (R-La.) Peter King (R-N.Y.) Frank Lucas (R-Okla.) Bob Ney (R-Ohio); unopposed Sue Kelly (R-N.Y.) + Ron Paul (R-Texas) Paul Gillmor (R-Ohio) Jim Ryun (R-Kan.) Steven LaTourette (R-Ohio) Donald Manzullo (R-Ill.) +; small business committee chair Walter Jones (R-N.C.) Judy Biggert (R-Ill.) Mark Green (R-Wis.) Pat Toomey (R-Pa.) + Vito Fossella (R-N.Y.) Eric Cantor (R-Va.) Melissa Hart (R-Pa.) Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.) Mike Ferguson (R-N.J.) Mike Rogers (R-Mich.) Patrick Tiberi (R-Ohio) Barney Frank (D-Mass.); unopposed, expected ranking member of the committee Paul Kanjorski (D-Pa.) Carolyn Maloney (D-N.Y.) Luis Gutierrez (D-Ill.) Nydia Velzquez (D-N.Y.) +; ranking member of the small business committee Mel Watt (D-N.C.)* Stephanie Tubbs Jones (D-Ohio) + Gary Ackerman (D-N.Y.) Darlene Hooley (D-Ore.) Max Sandlin (D-Texas) Greg Meeks (D-N.Y.) Jay Inslee (D-Wash.) Janice Schakowsky (D-Ill.) Dennis Moore (D-Kan.) Charles Gonzalez (D-Texas); unopposed Michael Capuano (D-Mass.); unopposed Harold Ford (D-Tenn.) Rubn Hinojosa (D-Texas); unopposed Ken Lucas (D-Ky.) Joseph Crowley (D-N.Y.) William Clay (D-Mo.) Clay Shaw (R-Fla.) Steve Israel (D-N.Y.) Other winners of interest to credit unions John Mica (R-Fla.); CUNA President and CEO Dan Mica's brother and CU supporter Ben Cardin (D-Md.); retirement reform advocate Jim Sensenbrenner (R-Wis.)*; chair of Judiciary Committee and bankruptcy conference Henry Hyde (R-Ill.); key in working compromise on Schumer amendment in bankruptcy bill Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.); unseated CU friend Connie Morella (R) John Shimkus (R-Ill.); incumbent defeated incumbent David Phelps (D)+ due to redistricting Rob Bishop (R-Utah); open seat, defeated banker- friendly Dave Thomas (D) Mike Michaud (D-Maine); open seat, credit union board member Rob Portman (R-Ohio); retirement reform advocate *indicates a Judiciary Committee Member with jurisdiction over bankruptcy reform +indicates a Small Business Committee Member

Complete your profile to continue reading and get FREE access to, part of your ALM digital membership.

  • Critical information including comprehensive product and service provider listings via the Marketplace Directory, CU Careers, resources from industry leaders, webcasts, and breaking news, analysis and more with our informative Newsletters.
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM and CU Times events.
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including and

© 2024 ALM Global, LLC, All Rights Reserved. Request academic re-use from All other uses, submit a request to [email protected]. For more information visit Asset & Logo Licensing.