Kinecta Federal Credit Union, Manhattan Beach, Calif., has award $2,000 Youth Club scholarships to three students: Claudia Brown, Cindy Liu, and Elizabeth Williams. Recipients were selected for their academic achievements, extracurricular activities, community involvement and essay response to the question “What are the advantages of joining a credit union rather than doing business with a bank?” New York State Credit Union League, Latham, and its member credit unions have awarded over $250,000 in scholarships this year to high school seniors who belong to a credit union and were planning to begin their college studies in the fall of 2002. Recipients were selected based on their outstanding academic and extracurricular achievements. Escambia County Employees Credit Union, Pensacola, Fla., has awarded college freshmen Megan N. Watts and Whitney M. Vaughan each $1,000 scholarships. The two recipients of the 2002 Al Evans Jr. Memorial Scholarship, were selected based on their high school academic and extracurricular accomplishments. Catholic Federal Credit Union, Saginaw, Mich., has recently presented over $57,000 in scholarships to 120 area college students through its annual Monsignor Forbes Scholarship Program. The college scholarships are open to all CFCU members and their families who meet the criterion of financial need, community involvement and grade point average. Virginia Credit Union, Richmond, has awarded 25 students the Dorothy J. Scholarship. Named after former VCU president, the scholarship awards $1,500 to students that demonstrate academic and extracurricular excellence. This year’s award recipients include the following students: Robert W. Adams II, Emily C. Ambler, Abby T. Bruce, Kari M. Cox, Lauren A. Creedle, Jessica D. Cunningham, Jason C. Deane, April E. Dillon, Evan B. Henck, Tiffany A. Horton, Melissa Y. Isbell, Lindsey C. Jones, Justyna M. Jozwik, Sara N. Keith, Cynthia D. Landesberg, Vera D. Mathis, Matthew W. Miller, William A. Newcomb, Benjamin J. Potter, Brooke E. Reams, Falicia S. Robertson, Brandis D. Robinson, Alyson Sagle, Rebecca W. Spivey, and Robin C. White. Nassau Educators Federal Credit Union, Valley Stream, N.Y., has awarded 70 scholarships to outstanding graduating seniors in Nassau County public and private schools. In addition four $500 scholarships were awarded to seniors related to NEFCU members, regardless of where they attended school. Recipients of the $500 scholarships were selected for their academic excellence and service to their community. The 70 other scholarships were awarded based on criteria established by individual Nassau County high schools. Over the past 13 years NEFCU has awarded over $449,000 to graduating seniors. UniStar Federal Credit Union, Tarrytown, N.Y., and local radio station WFAS have awarded the “Student of the Year” scholarship to Ansel Lurio. Lurio, who has Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy and is in the top 5% of his class, was presented a check totaling $5,000, which will be applied toward his education at Columbia University. Award recipients are selected based on their academic prowess, leadership qualities, extracurricular activities and service to the community. American 1 Federal Credit Union, Jackson, Mich., has awarded eight $1,000 scholarships to deserving high school seniors. Recipients were selected based on their dedication to community service. Mid-Atlantic Federal Credit Union, Gaithersburg, Md., has awarded college scholarships to Tyler Smith, $1,000 and Rae Anne Rhoderick $2,000. Recipients were selected based on essay responses and academic achievement. Georgia Federal Credit Union, Atlanta, has awarded nine high school seniors a total of $5,000 in scholarships. Recipients were selected based on individual essays on the value of credit union membership, academic achievement and community involvement. This year Elisa Ruth Mitcham received the $1,000 award and the following students were each awarded $500: Kathryn Diane Beavers, Emily Rose Brown, Lindsey Alexis Case, William Trenton Herring, Byron Ellie Jackson, Jerry Thomas Roberts, Crystal Joy Patterson, and Meredith Kane Spitler. CEFCU, Peoria, Ill., has named Kristina Gorton, Ronda Guyton, Rene Hilliard, and Jennifer Wheat this year’s Member Appreciation Scholarship award recipients. Students were selected for their outstanding academic achievement. Awards will be applied toward their educational expenses at Illinois Central College. Eagle Community Credit Union, Lake Forest, Calif., (ECCU) has awarded $1,000 scholarships to five college-bound students. This year’s recipients include Joseph Borgese, Brenna McCready, Pamela Smith, Solina Tith, and Mollie Tobin. The students were selected based on academic achievement, community involvement and a written biography describing their high school background, career goals and reasons for applying for the scholarship.

Complete your profile to continue reading and get FREE access to, part of your ALM digital membership.

Your access to unlimited content isn’t changing.
Once you are an ALM digital member, you’ll receive:

  • Critical information including comprehensive product and service provider listings via the Marketplace Directory, CU Careers, resources from industry leaders, webcasts, and breaking news, analysis and more with our informative Newsletters.
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM and CU Times events.
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including and

Already have an account?


Credit Union Times

Join Credit Union Times

Don’t miss crucial strategic and tactical information necessary to run your institution and better serve your members. Join Credit Union Times now!

  • Free unlimited access to Credit Union Times' trusted and independent team of experts for extensive industry news, conference coverage, people features, statistical analysis, and regulation and technology updates.
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM and Credit Union Times events.
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including and

Already have an account? Sign In Now
Join Credit Union Times

Copyright © 2023 ALM Global, LLC. All Rights Reserved.