Midwest Association of Credit Unions, has presented Heritage Corridor Credit Union President Deborah Bachmann the first annual Ronald P. Boots Distinguished Service Award. Bachmann has been honored for her service to the credit union and the credit union movement. Boots was a long-time president of MACU who died earlier this year. Central Florida Educators’ Federal Credit Union, has announced its “Employee of the Month” recipients as Mark Strickland, Daniel Torres and Edna Joyner for the months of January, February and March respectively. In addition, CFEFCU Electronic Financial Services Manager Matthew Heisey has been named the “Manager of the First Quarter”. All those selected are cited for outstanding performance, teamwork and service to the credit union and its members. They each receive a plaque and a monetary bonus. Defense Credit Union Council, Washington, has named four inductees to the Hall of Honor: Rodney Brock (deceased); John Madri; Leo Pike; and Robert Scott. Each inductee exemplifies the best of the best qualities found in individuals throughout the credit union movement. Langley Federal Credit Union, Hampton, Va., President/CEO Jean M. Yokum, has been honored by the Virginia District Exchange Clubs. Yokum was presented the Distinguished Virginian Award for her ability to enrich the lives of others and for her support of the community. Max Federal Credit Union, Montgomery, Ala., has been voted best credit union for Montgomery, Autauga, and Elmore counties by the readers of the Montgomery Advertiser. The “Best in the Tri-County” Readers Choice Awards help define excellence in products and services in the tri-counties. Telephone Credit Union Board Chairman Joseph Coleman and his wife Marilyn have been presented the 2002 Pride Award by the Parma Area Chamber of Commerce. The Colemans, who have been married for 45 years, were recognized for their outstanding contributions to the community. Aberdeen Proving Ground Federal Credit Union, Md., Senior Manager Amy Carlson has been named the APG Family Member Volunteer of the Year. Carlson has been recognized for her countless hours donated not only to the local community but also the surrounding areas. Virginia Credit Union, Richmond, has recognized seven state employees for outstanding achievement in their service to the public, community involvement and innovation. In addition to being presented the Governor’s Awards, each recipient is awarded a $500 check. This year’s award recipients include Patricia L. Huffman, Virginia Department of Corrections, Agency Star Award; Betty J. Gray, Va. Tech Cooperative Extension Service, Long Term Quality Service Award; David W. Pittman, Va. Museum of Fine Arts, Career Achievement Award; Karen V. Kenney, Va. Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Customer Service Award; Kenneth M. Toombs, Va. Department of Taxation, Community Service and Volunteerism Award; James G. Wallace, Va., Department of Housing and Community Development, Innovation Award; and Lewis Heath, Jr., Va. Air National Guard Fire and Rescue, Workplace Safety Award. Earthmover Credit Union, Oswego, Ill., Staff Accountant Jan Murphy has recently been recognized for her five years of dedicated service. President Warren Schumacher presented Murphy with a certificate and staff celebrated with cake. Capital Communications Federal Credit Union, Latham, N.Y., has presented Cindy Brown the Management Leadership Award for 2002. The award is a recognition program to acknowledge actions by management for demonstrating significant leadership qualities. The staff and management team nominate recipients. In addition, Lynn Krug has earned the Magnificent 7 Outstanding Performance Award. The award is given to an employee who displays extraordinary courage, thinking, trustworthiness, clarity, initiative, service and vision. Courts & Records Federal Credit Union, Los Angeles, Board Director Pastor Herrera, Jr. has been presented the President’s Award in his position as Los Angeles County Department of Consumer Affairs Director by the National Association of Consumer Agency Administrators. Herrera was recognized for his outstanding leadership, innovative programs, outreach efforts partnerships with other public/private agencies and his commitment to consumer protection.

Complete your profile to continue reading and get FREE access to CUTimes.com, part of your ALM digital membership.

Your access to unlimited CUTimes.com content isn’t changing.
Once you are an ALM digital member, you’ll receive:

  • Critical CUTimes.com information including comprehensive product and service provider listings via the Marketplace Directory, CU Careers, resources from industry leaders, webcasts, and breaking news, analysis and more with our informative Newsletters.
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM and CU Times events.
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including Law.com and GlobeSt.com.

Already have an account?


Credit Union Times

Join Credit Union Times

Don’t miss crucial strategic and tactical information necessary to run your institution and better serve your members. Join Credit Union Times now!

  • Free unlimited access to Credit Union Times' trusted and independent team of experts for extensive industry news, conference coverage, people features, statistical analysis, and regulation and technology updates.
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM and Credit Union Times events.
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including TreasuryandRisk.com and Law.com.

Already have an account? Sign In Now
Join Credit Union Times

Copyright © 2023 ALM Global, LLC. All Rights Reserved.