National Credit Union Foundation, Madison, Wis., has created three new awards to recognize league support of the Foundation’s work. The Chairman’s Club Award recognizes cash donations of $25,000 or more to the general fund and/or CIF investments exceeding $10 million; the Leadership Circle Award recognizes cash/in-kind contributions of $15,000 to the general fund and/or CIF investments exceeding $5 million; and the Pace Setter Award recognizes innovative programs/fundraising in support of the National Credit Union Foundation. The Texas and Washington Credit Union Leagues were recipients of the Pace Setter Award. The Pennsylvania and California Credit Union Leagues were inducted into the Chairman’s Club, while the Illinois Credit Union System and the North Carolina Credit Union Network were inducted into the Leadership Circle. Harborstone Credit Union, Tacoma, Wash., has recognized four staff members as the 2001 Employees of the Year. Richard Clark, Vickie Holden, Gary Platt and Daisy Ruiz were selected based on their exemplary performance throughout the year and consistent dedication to member service. Franklin Mint Federal Credit Union, Media, Pa., has named Loan Officer Kristin Gilpin the 2001 Doris Sgro Employee of the Year. Gilpin was recognized for epitomizing the credit union’s credo of offering speed, service and convenience to members. As part of the award FMFCU donated $500 to the recipients favorite charity. Gilpin has chosen the Alzheimer’s Association of Southeastern Pennsylvania as the 2001 beneficiary. Educational Community Credit Union, Jacksonville, Fla., has been named the recipient of the Commissioner’s Business Recognition Award for its efforts with St. Johns County schools. Each year, the Florida Education Foundation and Florida Department of Education honor those businesses throughout the state that have shown an outstanding commitment to improving education by partnering with schools in their community. ECCU is involved with many school programs. The award will be presented in a statewide ceremony in Orlando on Feb. 28. San Antonio Teacher’s Credit Union, Texas, has honored Board Secretary James W. Muir for his 50 years of credit union service. Retired from San Antonio Independent School District, Muir has served faithfully as a member of the Board of Directors of SATCU since 1951 and has served diligently as the secretary of the board since 1984. Memphis Area Teachers’ Credit Union, Tenn., Human Resources Vice President Judy W. Bell has been presented the 2001 Human Resources management Professional Excellence Award by the Society for Human Resources management-Tennessee. Award recipients are selected based on service to their local SHRM chapter, the human resources profession, the community and their professional history. Bell was one of eight recipients in the state and one of two in Memphis.

Complete your profile to continue reading and get FREE access to, part of your ALM digital membership.

Your access to unlimited content isn’t changing.
Once you are an ALM digital member, you’ll receive:

  • Critical information including comprehensive product and service provider listings via the Marketplace Directory, CU Careers, resources from industry leaders, webcasts, and breaking news, analysis and more with our informative Newsletters.
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM and CU Times events.
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including and

Already have an account?


© 2023 ALM Global, LLC, All Rights Reserved. Request academic re-use from All other uses, submit a request to [email protected]. For more information visit Asset & Logo Licensing.


Credit Union Times

Join Credit Union Times

Don’t miss crucial strategic and tactical information necessary to run your institution and better serve your members. Join Credit Union Times now!

  • Free unlimited access to Credit Union Times' trusted and independent team of experts for extensive industry news, conference coverage, people features, statistical analysis, and regulation and technology updates.
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM and Credit Union Times events.
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including and

Already have an account? Sign In Now
Join Credit Union Times

Copyright © 2023 ALM Global, LLC. All Rights Reserved.