WASHINGTON-Last week, Speaker of the House Dennis Hastert (R-Ill.) appointed conferees to the bankruptcy reform legislation conference. According to credit union Hill lobbyists, none of the conferees named were a surprise. NAFCU Senior Lobbyist Murray Chanow said he is only surprised that the House did not name more than 19 conferees, considering the Senate’s 13. “We’re finally moving on, which is good,” Chanow commented. The House conferees include Judiciary Chairman James Sensenbrenner (R-Wis.); Henry Hyde (R-Ill.); bankruptcy reform author George Gekas (R-Pa.); Steve Chabot (R-Ohio); Bob Barr (R-Ga.); Judiciary Ranking Member John Conyers (D-Mich.); Rick Boucher (D-Va.); Jerrold Nadler (D-N.Y.); Mel Watt (D-N.C.); Financial Services Committee Chairman Mike Oxley (R-Ohio); Spencer Bachus (R-Ala.); Financial Services Ranking Member John LaFalce (D-N.Y.); Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Billy Tauzin (R-La.); Joe Barton (R-Texas); Energy and Commerce Ranking Member John Dingell (D-Mich.); Education and Workforce Committee Chairman John Boehner (R-Ohio); Michael Castle (R-Del.); and Dale Kildee (D-Mich.). Members from committees other than the Judiciary are likely to only be consulted on the issues related to their committees, CUNA Vice President and Senior Legislative Counsel Gary Kohn said, but he added that it depends on how the rules of the conference committee are set up. Now the way is finally clear for conference debate to begin following the August recess. Staffers are expected to work out some of the details over the recess.