Brockton Credit Union, Mass., has awarded $1,000 scholarships to five local high schools: Brockton H.S., Oliver Ames H.S., Randolph H.S., Canton H.S. and Abington H.S. Scholarship recipients were then selected by the schools based on their academic achievement, moral character and enrollment at an accredited four-year college. This year’s award recipients include Abington High’s Kyle Shepherd; Brockton High’s Eugenia Alex; Oliver Ames High’s Talia Vestri and Joshua Parker; Canton High’s Daniel Berger; and Randolph High’s Kevin Wong. CommunityAmerica Credit Union, Overland Park, Kan., has underwritten two $1,500 scholarships for the Shawnee Mission Education Foundation. The awards program, entitled “Celebrate Success! 2001″ recognizes two seniors who possess outstanding records of leadership and academic achievement. Alicia Stuart and Eric Yurkovich, both seniors at Shawnee Mission Northwest, are the first recipients of the scholarships. Stuart has been recognized for her strong academic record and leadership positions in many school activities including Drill Team, Spirit Club Executive Board, Marching Cougar Pride, Student Council, and Prom and Graduation Committees. Yurkovich has also been recognized for his academic record as a National Merit Commended Scholar and serving as class president while participating on the baseball, basketball, and soccer team. CommunityAmerica CU has $1 billion in assets and serves more than 113,000 members. Jeanne D’Arc Credit Union, Lowell, Mass. has awarded Stephanie Maniscalco and Stephen Brady each a $500 scholarship. Maniscalco and Brady were among 20 members of the credit union’s Focused Young Investors program who participated in the first-time event. FYI is Jeanne D’Arc Credit Union’s savings program for members between 13 and 19 years of age. More than 900 members save for their futures through FYI. College-bound high school seniors within FYI were invited to submit one-page essays identifying their planned fields of college study and describe the relation to their career goals. Essays submitted by both recipients were selected for their interesting content and grammatical accuracy. Hanscom Federal Credit Union, Bedford, Mass., has announced this year’s John F. Condon Memorial Scholarship recipients. During its annual meeting, HFCU presented scholarship winners Christopher Craig, Kacie Lally and Colon Kennedy each with a check for $1000 to assist them in reaching their higher education goals. The three students were selected based on their outstanding academic excellence and achievement in extra-curricular activities. Credit Union Financial Group, Grand Rapids, Michigan, has awarded the Lloyd F. Hutt Scholarship to 10 high school students. The scholarship, established in 1991, awards 10 area high school seniors $1,500 each. The award is to provide financial assistance to the recipient in their pursuit of an undergraduate degree at an accredited college or university, and is based on an essay response to a selected topic. The $15,000 annual scholarship is supported by the four CU Financial Group credit unions. This year’s scholarship recipients include Allison Bolick; Jason Bolt; Jillian English; Jennette Haines; Holly Jakubik; Lauren Kinsman; Colleen McCann; Katherine Penninga; Cameron Warne; and Ming Zhu. Educational Community Credit Union, Jacksonville, Fla., has awarded five area high school students college scholarships. This year’s recipients are Joshua D. MacInnes, Fletcher Senior High School; Shaakera Leola Thomas, Paxon School for Advanced Studies; Angela Marie Quick, Nease High School; Coral K. Williams, Fletcher Senior High School; and Justin Drew Witt, Stanton College Preparatory School. All five students will receive $1,000 each year, renewable for three more years, for a total of $4,000 each. The scholarship is named for one of ECCU’s founders, Raymond A. Vinson, and is offered to ECCU members and their families who demonstrate leadership and financial need.

Complete your profile to continue reading and get FREE access to, part of your ALM digital membership.

Your access to unlimited content isn’t changing.
Once you are an ALM digital member, you’ll receive:

  • Critical information including comprehensive product and service provider listings via the Marketplace Directory, CU Careers, resources from industry leaders, webcasts, and breaking news, analysis and more with our informative Newsletters.
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM and CU Times events.
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including and

Already have an account?


Credit Union Times

Join Credit Union Times

Don’t miss crucial strategic and tactical information necessary to run your institution and better serve your members. Join Credit Union Times now!

  • Free unlimited access to Credit Union Times' trusted and independent team of experts for extensive industry news, conference coverage, people features, statistical analysis, and regulation and technology updates.
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM and Credit Union Times events.
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including and

Already have an account? Sign In Now
Join Credit Union Times

Copyright © 2023 ALM Global, LLC. All Rights Reserved.